Travel

Watch the New Year’s Celebration in Reykjavik Live!

Saturday Dec 31, 2011
  • PRINT
  • COMMENTS (0)
  • LARGE
  • MEDIUM
  • SMALL

REYKJAVIK, Iceland - Iceland’s unique fireworks display, made by the people, for the people, will be shared with the world on New Year’s Eve and into the New Year online live at: http://www.icelandnaturally.com

New Year’s Eve in Iceland is a spectacular celebration. Festivities traditionally start with a family dinner, followed by bonfires (brenna), where family, friends and neighbors gather to enjoy the warm fire and celebrate with music. According to Icelandic folklore, there are several magical traditions that are supposed to happen on New Year’s Eve: cows are thought to be able to talk, seals take on human form, the dead rise from their graves and elves move from one house to the next.

At midnight, a brilliant display of fireworks will be unleashed. Iceland does not have restrictions on fireworks that many other countries do, so the entire population of Reykjavik, approximately 200,000 people, creates their own fireworks show. After midnight, the nightclubs and pubs are open for business, with the celebration going well into the morning.

This massive fireworks display will be broadcast around the world over the Internet here. The celebration can be viewed live online at 7:00 p.m. EST in the US (6:00 p.m. CT, 5:00 p.m. MT, 4:00 p.m. PT). Click here to join the event on Facebook and let everyone know you will be tuning in!

Iceland looks forward to celebrating - with you!

Iceland does not have restrictions on fireworks that many other countries do, so the entire population of Reykjavik, approximately 200,000 people, creates their own fireworks show.

Iceland Naturally Visit: www.icelandnaturally.com
Fan: www.facebook.com/icelandnaturally
Follow: www.twitter.com/icelandnatural

Travel Deals

Northern Lights and Glacier Walk
From January 6 through March 26, adventurous travelers can take a guided walk through the wonderland of ice sculptures, ridges and deep crevasses of an Icelandic glacier before enjoying a warm lobster soup and setting out in vehicles in search of the beautiful sight of the Northern Lights. Travelers are free to do their own exploring for most of the days included in this package, so take the opportunity to explore cosmopolitan Reykjavik or the surrounding countryside.

Click here for more information.

Golden Circle and Northern Lights
Spend five days in Iceland at the four star Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura and take in some of the best Iceland has to offer on the Golden Circle tour. See the old Viking parliament at Thingvellir National Park, the geysers of the Haukadalur area, the magnificent Gullfoss waterfall, and more. Then, take a soak at the Laugarvatn Fontana Spa and enjoy a gourmet dinner at Lindin before setting out in search of the Aurora Borealis. From $767* per person.

Click here for more information.

Comments

Add New Comment

Comments on Facebook